Home Campus News

Tuesday, June 21, 2016

Want To Skip Remediation Classes? Attend PREP!

UACCM is offering PREP (Placement Refresher Exam Preparation) this summer.  Students can receive FREE tutoring in reading, writing, and math.  To take advantage of PREP, visit the Library Complex, Room 105 during any of the following times:

June 6 - June 30:  11:00 a.m - 4:30 p.m.

July 5 - July 28:  8:00 a.m. - Noon, 12:30 p.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Students are encouraged to retest prior to the beginning of the term.  Students can retest on any section of the Compass at a cost of $5 per section.

For more information, contact Tom McLeod at 501.977.2159 or mcleod@uaccm.edu.

Monday, June 20, 2016

UACCM Student Organizations Raise Money for Heifer International

University of Arkansas Community College at Morrilton student organizations joined together to raise money for Heifer International and well exceeded their goal.  The donation from their joint endeavor totaled $1965.00, nearly four times the goal of $500.
UACCM organizations Phi Beta Lambda, Phi Theta Kappa, Computer Information Systems, Student Surveyors, Student Nursing Association, and Baptist Collegiate Ministry all worked together in a month-long campaign to raise the funds.  The groups held their own fund raisers, and business sponsorships were obtained to sponsor the #UACCMHeifersHelpers, which raised money every time someone used it on social media.
While the original goal was to raise money to donate a heifer, enough was raised to allow for the donation of the following items:  three heifers, one goat, one pig, one sheep, one trio of rabbits, one gift of honeybees, and a flock of chicks.  Cindy Thompson, UACCM instructor and Pi Beta Lambda advisor, said, “The PBL students left their September visit to Heifer International excited to contribute to their mission. To maximize the impact they could make, they invited other student organizations to join them in raising money to donate a heifer and immediately realized the goal would not only be met but almost quadrupled. UACCM’s first campus-wide community service project was a success because of the vision, dedication, and commitment of these students.”

Heifer International works with communities to end hunger and poverty and to care for the Earth.  According to their website, Heifer’s mission is to do more than put food in the mouths of hungry people, it is to help people feed themselves.  The goal of every Heifer project is sustainability and self-reliance.  To do this, they use the strategy of Pass on the Gift, which means, “As people share their animals' offspring with others, along with their knowledge, resources and skills, an expanding network of hope, dignity and self-reliance is created that reaches around the globe.”

For more information about UACCM’s student organizations, visit www.uaccm.edu.

UACCM Drafting Students Complete Cost-Saving Project

University of Arkansas Community College at Morrilton school officials worked with students in the drafting program to create updated fire evacuation plans for nearly every building on campus.  While there are companies that offer this service, allowing the students to complete this project as part of their classroom experience gave them real world experience and saved the college between $30,000 and $50,000.
The project began in November of 2015 with students scanning in the near 800 as-built drawings of the various buildings and additions on campus, going all the way back to 1963.  In January of 2016, the students site-verified the location of every fire extinguisher, emergency fire lights, and fire pulls by working their way through every building on campus.  From there they traced the building floorplans into Revit, a drafting software program, which allows UACCM to have the entire campus’ plans available and editable electronically.  With the plans now computerized, the location of the emergency equipment was easily added, and new emergency exit maps will be posted in nearly every classroom by August of 2016. 
Copies of these maps will be provided to the local EMS, the Morrilton Police Department, and the Conway County Sheriff’s office so that they have these to reference in case of emergency. The maps will be labeled with a code, and the corresponding building will display that code with vinyl stickers in the window.  This will aid in their response to emergency situations.
Approximately 20 students from the project drafting and commercial drafting courses, as well as the drafting club and one intern, participated in this project.  Jayson Millheim, drafting instructor, said, “This project is one of the most real-world projects I could envision for the students.  In the process of this project, every student had a shining point.  They each used their strengths and backgrounds to lead where they could to a successful finish of the project.”
While this project provided important lessons on drafting and collaborative work to the students, it also provided many benefits to UACCM.  Along with the cost savings, this project provides a way to look at a building without having to look through several different drawings, depending on how many additions and renovations have been made.  It also allows for better educated decisions when it comes to future projects on the buildings.  The scanning of these drawings has electronically archived the drawings so that they can be accessed through the UACCM server, instead of having to dig through near 60-year-old paper copies, and the information on the drawings is now preserved and no longer at risk of loss or damage.

For more information about UACCM, visit our website at www.uaccm.edu.

UACCM Receives Trailer Donation For Commercial Driver Training Program

The University of Arkansas Community College at Morrilton received a donation in the form of a trailer from Wayne Smith Trucking of Morrilton.  The donated 2007 Great Dane trailer will be used for the new UACCM Commercial Driver Training (CDT) Program. 
Applications for the non-credit CDT program are currently being accepted.  Beginning in June, the program is four to seven weeks, consisting of 160-164 training hours. Program participants must be 21 years of age and be able to pass a DOT physical, background check, and drug screening. Participants must be able to read, speak, and comprehend the English language sufficiently to meet the Department of Transportation regulations. Participants may need to be available for some evening on-the-road training.

Upon completion of the program, students will be tested by the State Police or a third party tester for their Class A Commercial Driver’s License (CDL). Tuition and fees total $3,500 for the training program. There will be additional fees for the CDL packet and written and skills exams. These fees are not included, and will be the responsibility of the participants.

If applicants are currently unemployed, funding for this program may be available through grants or scholarships.  Contact Jessica Rohlman at 501-977-2004 for more information and to apply.